The One

I know you’ve been hurt before and therefore have resorted to hide behind an unbreakable wall and make yourself believe that you are strong and don’t need to feel again those emotions you once felt but were teared down over and over; but let me tell you that all this hurt, pain and blocked feelings stop once you meet The One.

No, The One isn’t necessarily going to be your future wife and maybe not even your friend after it’s all over. The One is that person that came into your life and changed everything you’ve ever known about love. No, The One doesn’t build you a world of rainbows and sweets; she warns you about the risks and takes your hand while you both walk into a sea of unknown and unpredictable emotions. The One doesn’t let go of your hand because of the high tides; she holds your hands firmer so you can both survive nature’s natural course of action and get out of it alive, safely and most importantly: together.

That afternoon while I was grading some papers at the lab, you came to pick me up for our first date. Before I opened the door I was so nervous, that I decided to let my hair down to look “prettier”. As you walked in I felt a jump inside me; like squirmy little creatures flying around my stomach making me all ticklish inside. You sat down to wait a few seconds while I organized my student’s exams. I was sweating. I don’t know for sure if it was because I had my lab coat on or the acetylcholine was being released. When I finished, I walked towards you and said “I’m ready now”. We were on our way to your house and the only thing I thought was “what if he’s some rapist?” (honestly though!). I was a bit scared of going to some guy’s house when we just had started talking a couple of weeks ago, but somehow I felt calm and relieved by your side, even though I barely knew you. I had this feeling inside that made me trust you somehow in that moment.

My surprise when we got to your house, was that you had made lunch (made as in yes, you cooked). The first thing that came to my mind was that I didn’t deserve it. I just thought within myself that you were “too much of a man for me”; I mean common…even I can’t cook for myself.

hands

As we sat down to our delicious lunch, I was so nervous that I started talking during our whole meal and I even served more food for myself (no girl wants to be known as a foodie on the first date). I got up to clear my plate and you didn’t even let me stand up with it, because you wanted to take care of it for me. I was at awe on how I was on a date with the most educated, gentlemanly and kind person I have ever met. I started to feel more undeserved.

While I was looking to a possible exit to leave, you turned to me and asked me if I wanted to talk with you for a while in your room. A red light lit up in my brain and I though “Aha! You wanted to fuck me all along”. Since I really wasn’t into having a fuck buddy at the time, I said “No” right away and was heading towards my purse when you said “Don’t worry, we are not going to sex, just talk”. My adrenaline started running and I couldn’t even believe the words I was just hearing. This guy asks me to go to his room and tells me that we won’t fuck; or he doesn’t like me, or he’s just too much of a man for me.

We spent hours talking about pretty much everything. We even played around with an UV light you had and I started looking for “blood stains”(jokingly, of course) on your sheets, when you took my head into your hands and started to kiss me. I could feel my heart ripping through my ribs and those squirmy little creatures flying again in my stomach. Since it wasn’t unusual with guys that these make-out sessions turned to end in a hot steamy one night stand, I started unbuttoning my shirt when you stopped kissing me abruptly and looked at me face to face and said “Gina, I don’t want to have sex with you. I don’t want you for just sex. I want to get to know you”. When I stopped unbuttoning, I just thought two things: This guy might be gay, or I’m probably not his type. Although I didn’t feel as good with myself that night because “some guy rejected having sex with me”, later on I understood that I was being respected because of who I am from day one.

You are The One.

The One is that person who motivates you to pursue your dreams. The One would always point out your flaws even though it hurts, because it will help you become a better person. The One will always cheer you up when your sad and need support. The One will always do things ensuring the welfare for both. The One will be that person who makes your stomach ticklish every time you kiss, just like the first time you did. The One would want you to always be yourself no matter how much you two butt heads.

The One will always protect you, even from your own self. The One is going to be by your side through good times and bad times. The One is going to sacrifice their own happiness or pleasures for the sake of yours. The One will always find a way to make time for you. The One is that person who will always respect you and give you a special place in their lives. The One is always going to make plans for the future with you in the picture.

The One will love you with all your curves and flat lines. The One will always trust you and believe in your word. The One is that multi-faceted person that can be your girlfriend, best friend and wife at the same time. The One will always be by your side until the estimated time comes.

Maybe you haven’t met The One yet, or maybe you are next to her right now and don’t even know it. It’s not about waiting for it, or looking for it; it just happens in a sporadic, unexpected and ordinary way. I have The One in my life, and I’m hoping to be The One in your life too.

 

 

Author: atriumofwords

20 something Manhattan born, Caribbean raised girl who is a senior Med Student, Biochemistry tutor and Violinist. She's an amateur writer when she's not at the library studying for finals. She loves music, traveling and eating.

One thought on “The One”

  1. This is a very hopeful post! I can’t believe you actually found a guy that nice…glad you’re trying to spread hope and faith. But I don’t think I’m going to find the One you speak of. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

